Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
janinelevi

Pond Design Flaw - Solutions?

janinelevin
10 years ago

Greetings - I am new to this wonderful forum, so please forgive me for posting two questions so quickly! I have attached a photo of two small 90 gallon ponds that sit next to each other. One sits slightly higher and spills water down into the lower one through two tubes I inserted through holes that I cut in the wood. The pump in the lower pond moves the water back up to a square spillway at the rear of the upper pond. The setup has been great, and the three fantails in the lower pond and four black moors in the top tank really seem to love their homes. Sadly I woke up one morning early to the sound of "chugging," and dashed outside to find that the hose had dislodged and the pump had kept on pumping water ... but into my garden instead of the upper tank, while the top tank kept draining, and the whole system just purged itself of half of its water. I lost a small sweet black moor who happened to be in the well of a bog plant pot at the time the water went down past the top of the pot. I feel terrible and although I think that I have secured the line well at this point, and have had no further incidents, I have this burning worry all the time. I have thought it through and cannot come up with any kind of failsafe. I moved the pump higher in the water so that it would fail sooner in the event of another line failure. But is there some "pond trick" that I might be overlooking? Some sort of reserve tank between the lower and upper ponds? I feel like an ogre to this day, those poor black moors are so vulnerable and sweet and I just failed him.

Thanks in advance.

Comments (9)

• janinelevin
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Oh, and also, I forgot to mention, if the pump were to fail altogether, same issue, the top would just keep draining into the lower and the water would just spill out. Might not be as deadly as what happened, but still ... wondering. thx again. j