Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
muddy_feet

Fertilizing Lotus

muddy_feet
12 years ago

Since I'm new to lotus I have been trying to figure out when to fertilize them. When I first potted I used Osmocote but now that I have leaves that rise above the water surface I wonder if it's time to fertilize again. I read that lotus are very heavy feeders and need lots of fertilizer but also read you can burn them.

What do some of you recommend and how often do you fertilize?

TIA

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:219904}}

Comments (6)

• catherinet
    12 years ago

I don't use Osmocote, but isn't that supposed to last all summer? I use either pond tabs or Jobe's tomato spikes and I use 3 per plant every 3-4 weeks. Find out about the osmocote before you add any more, since you might be adding too much more.

• muddy_feet
    Original Author
    12 years ago

Osmocote lasts about 4 months the label says. I potted the tuber the middle of April so I have 1 month to go but I noticed the leaves have a yellow tinge of color to them so I thought maybe there wasn't enough fertilizer. I don't know since this is my first time growning them and maybe the leaves do look that way.

Thanks for the reply Catherinet.

• clarabelle63
    12 years ago