Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pjtexgirl

Above ground pond vs in ground

pjtexgirl
17 years ago

I'm new to water gardening/ponds and am getting lots of info before I get serious. I've gotten a lot of helpful advice from this forum.Thank you.

I'd like to know the pros/cons to above ground ponds VS inground. Feel free to give personal opinions! Thanks,PJ

Comments (39)

• catherinet
    17 years ago

How big do you want it?
    I have a couple above-ground stocktanks, and 2 inground small watergardens. The advatange of above-ground is that you don't have to lean over so much! Everything is so close to enjoy.
    But.....depending on which zone you live in, you may have to take everything out of the above-ground, and protect it over the winter. That's what I've been doing with my above-ground tanks.....and it's no fun!
    Also, above-ground ponds, if they are small, can get pretty hot. And they definitely freeze in the winter.
    So it's just what you prefer, and what your needs and wants are. I think in the long run, in-grounds are better.
    I suppose a nice compromise is to dig a pond a couple feet into the ground, but then have it come up a couple feet off the ground too. You'd use cement, stone, or wood for the sides.

• lilllly
    17 years ago

I echo Catherinet exactly, except you seem to be in zone 7, as I am, so you should not *have* to remove your fish or hardy plants in an above ground pond if it's large enough. I have a stock tank pond (300 gal) that I enjoy every bit as much as my larger in-ground pond. The fish are "up close and personal" as are your plants.
    The advantage to an in-ground pond, of course, is the depth you can have for your larger fish, and more room for plants.
    I can tell you that you will likely not be satisfied with only one pond, and you'll probably have two or more eventually, both below and above ground.
    Lil

• mckool
    17 years ago