Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ernie_m_gw

My poor sick Koi

ernie_m
13 years ago

Middle of last week my 12" 2 year old Koi took ill. One day swimming and eating fine, next day went sideways on the bottom and wasn't swimming. Put off in quarantine with 82 degree temperature, salt and antibiotics in the water.

It is the largest of 5 fish in my 200 gallon pond, equal in size to all the rest combined. All water readings are normal, ph 7.4, ammonia, nitrite nitrate all almost zero.

Symptoms are it swims terribly (but much more active when first spotted sick), on its side (but better then it was: always upside down), has at least new two lesions that seem to come and go. Shows no interest in food but can be quite perky at times swimming hurriedly if erratically. Sometime while in the quarantine tank its tail got an upward bend and seems not to move, *possibly* from a shock from the heater I've never used before, or something internal. (The tail can be gently straightened out again.)

It will be a week tomorrow since it has had any food. I am loosing hope it will ever recover. Does anyone have any suggestions to try? I've asked on koivet but I really do not agree with their answer.

Comments (3)

• annedickinson
    13 years ago

Ernie,

I have no suggestions, but want you to know I'll pray for you and your fish. Hopefully someone who does know will respond.

Anne

• mike_il
    13 years ago

Ernie,
    What do you mean by has at least two lesions that seem to come and go? If it wasn't for these I would guess that it was one of three things. First would be electrical shock. The second would be a stroke. And the third and most likely is that the fish jumped and hit it's head on something hard like a rock. If any of these three things are the problem then the fish may recover enough to survive. It may take quite a while before it starts to try to eat again.
    Mike

• ernie_m
    Original Author
    13 years ago