Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jeannie75

hyacinth and water lettuce in winter

jeannie75
15 years ago

i have one little piece of hyacinth and 3 lettuces that i threw on top of my pond to float. somebody at the green house told me i need to put all my pond plants in containers rooted during the winter or they will die at the root and not come back when we were talking about my parrots feather coming back next spring. i also have some arrowhead, water celery, taro,duckweed 2 walmart lilys and a cattail i dug up. any advice for overwintering?. i was just going to put them all in the bottom of my pond after cutting them back.

Comments (8)

• eyecndiggit
    15 years ago

the person at the greenhouse doesn't have a clue about anything. But the hyacinth and water lettuce wil both die anyway. They are tropical.
    Leave your plants in the pond. Not in containers.

• Deborah Harvey
    15 years ago

I am new to ponding (and Michigan) and since I had such a difficult time locating water hyacinth before mid-June...I am going to attempt to overwinter a few of my water hyacinth and my papyrus.
    Now that I finally have sparkling clear water I don't to want to chance a repeat of the pea soup algea that took hold of my pond early this spring.
    I have found a very informative site:
    http://gardenline.usask.ca/yards/overwint.html
    It's written by Garry Miller, a landscaper who specializes in aquatic gardeing and was provided as an extension service by the Extension Division and the Department of Horticulture Science, University of Saskatchewan.
    The way I see it is I have nothing to lose :-)

• pzelko
    15 years ago