Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
rafe111

Need advice from anyone with pond vacuum experience.

rafe111
11 years ago

I have no pond vac experience and don't want to spend a lot on something that won't work for me, so I was hoping people with pond vac experience could help me. I'm mainly interested in what happens when you vacuum in and around hornwort to get all the muck and algae among the plants.

MY POND:

I have a pond 2 feet deep by 12 feet wide by 28 feet long. 6 koi about 15" long. It contains some water lilies in planting baskets, a couple of green frogs and lots of toads in the breeding season.

I have a TON of hornwort growing from the bottom of the pond. I threw a small bag of it in a couple of years ago, and it apparently loves it. It comes back every spring (from a cold zone 5 winter with the pond iced over except for a large hole kept open by an air pump) and spreads. It seems to be growing from the muck that has accumulated on the liner on the bottom.

I also have 2 very shallow areas from 1 to 6" deep where various types of reeds are growing in gravel. (The deep area doesn't have a gravel bottom - it is just liner. But the shallow, bog like areas have gravel for the reeds to root in).

The water is clear and the PH, Nitrate, Nitrite, etc. are all at healthy pond levels. I have a low stocking level and a big bio-filter.

THE PROBLEM:

I am having a lot of trouble with blanket weed (string algae) in the deep sections. The algae is covering all the hornwort and it is floating to the surface (covering half the surface area) on hot days. It is ugly. The fish struggle to swim through it. And I need to deal with it. (You can see a picture of the algae covered hornwort here: http://s745.photobuc...nt=IMGP4063.jpg)

I am considering buying a pond vacuum (probably an OASE Pondovac 4) to help suck out the algae and get the muck off the liner on the bottom of the deep end, and out from among the reeds and stones in the shallow areas too.

MY QUESTIONS: