Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mbhoneybee63_gw

Benefits of water change?

mbhoneybee63
13 years ago

I am new to ponding as of this spring. You have all taught me more than I knew there was to learn beginning last year when were were laying out plans for our 1,500 gal pond.

My question is...I read often about doing 10,15 or 20% weekly water changes. I have not found the reasons for this explained yet. Could someone please tell me the benefits of doing this and the dangers of not?

My pond is 9X12 and 3ft at its deepest, a few large boulder type rocks on the shelves (none on the bottom), (4)6"-8" koi, a shubunkin and comet of the same size and at least (7) 2" "surprise" goldfish babies. My pump is a 3,200 gph. I also have various submerg,floating and margin plants.

I have never done a partial water change since installing the pond in April ((ashamed)) only topping up when needed.

Thanks for the help you gave me before I even had a pond and all the ongoing knowledge and support!

Melissa

Comments (20)

• ccoombs1
    13 years ago

Water changes remove excess nitrates, heavy metals (which will just concentrate if the pond water is only replaced through evaporation), and organics not picked up by the filter. New water also brings in minerals that are essential to fish health.

• goodkarma_
    13 years ago

Water changes are important in fish ponds to freshen the water as ccoombs has said. You need to know where you are at first off. Test your water for PH, ammonia, nitrites, nitrates, hardness. This will tell you how well your filtration system is handling the waste and ammonia excreted from your fish and the rotting debris from plants and such. And how much buffering capacity your pond has to prevent PH swings.