Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hzdeleted_19775475

cleaning the waterfall tubing?

User
11 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a relative newbie to the pond world, and am wondering if there's a way to clean the tubing from my pump to my waterfall? I bought a nice big pump (3500gph) for my nice big pond (1800gal), and the waterflow started off great. However in the month that this pump has been working, the water flow has dropped by about half. Is it possible that I have decomposing gunk in my tubing?

There is no filter on this pump, so I'm sure my pump is sucking in stuff. There is also a 'bulb' in the tubing about 1 foot from the end of the tubing (Sorry! Not sure of the official terminology here!) The tubing is about 1 1/2 inches, the 'bulb' is about 3in, and then the tubing narrows back down to 1 1/2in. The end of the tubing- output- is only about a half inch. Would this catch the gunk?

So- the big question would be, do you think that the gunk is the problem? And 2- how would I clean this out?

(photo is of the waterfall area with the reduced waterflow)

Thanks!

Comments (20)

• annedickinson
    11 years ago

My first guess, though I'm no expert is that the strongest possibility would be that the pump may be clogging if there is no filter to keep debris out of it.

I'm not sure what you mean by bulb. Is it a swelling in the hose itself (like a snake that has eaten a rabbit)or something added to the hose like a connector or shut-off valve or check valve? I'm also not understanding how the hose changes from 1 1/2" to 1/2" at the end.

Anne

• User
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Hi Anne,

I've opened the pump as much as one can, and cleaned that out- doesn't seem to be clogged there? (unless it's inside where I can't get to)

The bulb part is in the attached picture- definitely something added to the tubing.