Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wynswrld98

Newbie pond w/o fish questions

Wayne Reibold
9 years ago

I have a 30' x 40' x 2' pond I'm about to put Firestone 45 mil EPDM pond liner in (and underlayment) and use a Kasco Decorative Fountain 1/4 HP 1400JF to aerate it. The previous owner had it lined many years ago but as of now it's a crater.

I'm totally new to ponds. I have no plans for having fish in the pond.

Is it okay for me to periodically put chlorine in the pond like people do with swimming pools? If so how would I figure out how much and how frequently I can do so?

How many hours a day do I need to fun the fountain (for aeration purposes)? I'm in the Seattle/Tacoma WA area.

Does anyone have any recommendations of sump pumps or such to make it easiest to periodically empty the pond? There is appropriate lower open land nearby it can drain to.

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• chas045
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

That is a big pond. First, you can use old carpet that you can get when a new rug replaces an old one from a carpet dealer/installer, in place of underlayment.