Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bllgl37

Introducing new fish to Pont

bllgl37
11 years ago

Hi all. Newbie here and I've got a question. How do I go about introducing my 6 inch goldfish from his tank into my pond which is home to a 12 inch smallmouth bass, for larger goldfish, a 2 foot Channel catfish (his name is big Gallupe) into Koi a little smaller than the cat. My concern is the big Galloupe eating the six-inch goldfish. He has drawn blood on my fingers while I was feeding him. baby bass (I remember when he was just an egg) used to be king of the pond but the cat seems very aggressive this year. a friend told me to put the new goldfish in a crab or lobster cage. Reason being, it would allow the goldfish to see what he's got to deal with when he comes out in the big waters. This doesn't sound right to me because if he gets out... Gulp! Does anybody have any ideas? I'd like to get the him out this summer no time to build another pond.

Comments (5)

• terrestrial_man
    11 years ago

I would not put your small goldfish in with the others unless you are planning on using it as a food fish???
    If you want to keep it alive then buy a preform pool, or a kiddie pool, or even a plastic Sterilite bin that you can plant into the ground and fill with water-the ground will support the walls of the bin as the water would push the walls outward.

• bllgl37
    Original Author
    11 years ago