Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pikecoe

Yellow Primrose, Bacopa and Creeping Jenny

pikecoe
16 years ago

I have these plants growing in my skippy filter and it is really getting pretty. This being my first summer with them, I'm wondering what will happen with them this winter. Will they just die back and come back next summer or will they die and have to be started all over again next summer. I wouldn't think that they would make good house plants over the winter. Any suggestions? Scott, you are not too far south of me, do you know? Glenda

Comments (10)

• lsst
    16 years ago

I do not know about the first two but my Creeping Jenny overwinters fine here in zone 7.

• nkm56
    16 years ago

Bacopa is hardy to zone 6. I'm in zone 6 and this is my first year with it, so I have no experience with it. However, I'm hoping it will do just fine.

• comettose
    16 years ago

Glenda, are you Zone 8 or 9? All should be fine in either zone IMO. -CT

• pikecoe
    Original Author
    16 years ago

I think it is 7b, but not sure. It took a long time for it to get started from the cuttings and I was hopeing It would not have to be re-started every year. Glenda

• comettose
    16 years ago

Glenda,

I thought bacopa was more on tropical and didn't know it was hardy to Zone 6 as per nancym1956's post. From Encyclopedia of Water Garden Plants the following:

Bacopa caroliniana (Zones 9-11)
    Bacopa lengera 'Variegata' (Zones 9-11)
    Bacopa monnieri, aka Water Purslane (Zones 6-11)
    Bacopa myriophylloides, aka thin-leafed bacopa (Zones 9-11)

Three out of four are tropical and won't survive your Zone 7b as per my reference, so to be on the safe side I'd bring some in and leave some out to see what happens unless you know you have the hardy type.