Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ron_mummert

Today's pump quality - is Beckett still 'decent'?

ron_mummert
12 years ago

Forgive me for overworking this old question, but most of the info on this topic is a tad dated. With today's tendency for manufacturers to build on the cheap, & attach a once respected brand name to a throwaway product, I just wanted a expert's (you) opinion on the subject.

13 years ago I was a pond newbie. I installed a preformed 165 gallon "tub" & all the equipment that came with the kit. The pump was a small Beckett, submerged in a "battery box" with sponge-like filters. This pump ran 24/7, all 4 seasons, froze solid one winter, & is still running for the people who bought my house last year. I NEVER had a problem with this little workhorse. So.... I have pond fever again, & inherited another "tub" of about 220 gallons (I'm guessing).

I have four highjacked 4" comets that have been putting up with life in a 20 gallon plastic tub for a year. They deserve better. So I'm starting over. I'll probably copy the set-up I had before - in-pond filter & pump with a fountain head plus a 7 - 10' tube routed via diverter to a small falls feature maybe a foot or so higher than the pond edge.

I'm certainly inclined to buy a Beckett again based upon past performance, hopefully assuming that Beckett hasn't degraded its standards. IF SO, any recommendations? Money, within reason, ain't the issue. I don't particularly trust the Big Box or no-name stuff I've seen on line. Also, if there any improved filter set-ups on the market, don't hesitate to clue me in. Humbly thanking you in advance, Ron.

Comments (5)

• garyfla_gw
    12 years ago

Hi
    I've had very good luck with the "pondmaster" series.
    They are magnet driven so only one moving part sealed in epoxy so no oil They are also draw little electricity. For example the 1200GPH draws only 110 watts.