Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
waterboatman2014

Cushion matting overlay - does it exist?

WaterBoatman2014
9 years ago

Hi all - newbie here
I need a sort of matting that I can cut up to overlay certain areas of my pond where heavy objects (boulders, pond edgings) will be located.

It's really important that:
(1) it doesn't "wick"
(2) It's a cushiony-type material so it squashes down to absorb the heavy weight
(3) It's preferably waterproof
(4) Black in colour
(5) Can be cut to size
(6) UV protected

I was thinking of that black carpet underlay stuff but am worried it might poison the pondlife!

Very grateful for your thoughts, suggestions. Thanks!!

Comments (6)

• lmjk1221
    9 years ago

We used scraps of pond liner to cushion under heavy rocks. You can use one piece or layer them if you feel more layers are needed.

• WaterBoatman2014
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for the tip lisak1, will give it a try :))

• chas045
    9 years ago

I agree with lisa. The liner is really tough; however i would imagine if your boulders or whatever were really sharp, there could still be an issue. If you weren't already planning to have underlayment, I believe it would help the liner move down from any sharp weight. I only have a ~700 gal. pond but I believe my experience should carry over to large pond - large boulder installs as well. I used old carpet procured for free from a carpet dealer/installer. Ask; they should be happy to save one of their dump runs. I have not seen commercial pond underlayment, but I bet it isn't as protective as the free carpet. Some of my carpet is under a utility pond. It is still exposed and none of it gets moldy. It is great stuff. Did I mention that it was free?!

• WaterBoatman2014
    Original Author
    9 years ago