Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nicketti

Using aeration to keep hole in ice

nicketti
11 years ago

I live in New York State, and I'm hoping to use a luft aeration pump to maintain a hole in the ice in my 150 gallon garden pond this winter. It is a plastic molded pond, about 12 inches deep. Has anyone under similar circumstances had any luck doing this?. I can't afford to buy a deicer AND an aeration unit. I've read very poor reviews on every brand of deicer as far as failure rates after the first season-some even during the first season.That is why I am leaning towards the aeration unit.

Comments (7)

• NaturesFolly
    11 years ago

I have a 1500g pond and all I use it the aeration to keep a hole in the ice,I have used it for the past 3 years and it works very well. I also have a smaller pond that when I first built it I bought a de-icer.... those will run your electric bill up very fast!

• ChrissieC
    11 years ago

I'm new at this and am curious about why you need to keep the hole open.

• nicketti
    Original Author
    11 years ago

If the pond is allowed to completely freeze over, the toxic gases from the fish/frogs breathing, as well as rotting vegetation, will build up under the ice in the water and kill the fish/frogs. If a small hole is kept open in the ice, it will allow these gases to escape, and the fish/frogs will survive the winter.

• Mike56
    11 years ago

Hi, I use a small pump placed about 115 inches under the water with the discharge pointing streight up. This keeps the water moveing so it wont freeze. I plase it and start it up when I shutdown my falls and main pump for the past 7 years.

If you are in NY, with a small 12 inch deep pond, I would be conserned about it freezing solid! I have had up to 6 inches of ice on my 1200 gallon pond in NJ. Do you have fish?

• ChrissieC
    11 years ago