Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
liz_margoshes

Pump cover keeps getting clogged

Liz Margoshes
12 years ago

I have a small Pondmaster pump. It has a cylinder that fits over the opening (where the water enters). This cylinder is a piece of foam surrounding a plastic core. See below for picture. It's what they're calling "replacement media."

The problem is that every day this foam gets so densely packed with -- something -- dirt? that the flow of water pretty much shrinks to a dribble. When I look at it, it's kind of sucked in in the middle of the foam, impeding the flow of water. I have to get out the pump, remove this cylinder, wash it out, and put it back on the pump.

I don't know why this is happening THAT often. It seems strange. The pond is small, around 3 ft. in diameter, and really doesn't seem that dirty! in fact I just recently set it up from scratch once again with new liner and everything after I had a leak.

Anybody had this experience?

Here is a link that might be useful: foam

Comments (3)

• annedickinson
    12 years ago

Liz,

Thankfully I don't have that problem as I have a different kind of filter system with my Pondmaster. I don't know if you can adapt a regular square pondmaster filter to your pump. A friend has the foam type and mentioned that she has to rinse the foam daily.

What affects my filter the most is old plant matter: dying algea and little bits of roots etc.

There was a thread about making your own filter and I've included it here. Horton has a good idea using plastic colanders.

Good luck!!

Here is a link that might be useful: DIY Prefilter

• sleeplessinftwayne
    12 years ago