Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
adriennemb2

Overwintering lily with pond fish in garage?

adriennemb2
12 years ago

The water temp in the pond is dropping now with all the cool nights lately, down to 50-55F. This year, after a near total fish loss due to disease, I am planning on wintering the 2 remaining shubunkin, 4 baby comet fry, 5 minnows and trapdoor snails in a 50 gallon stock tank in my insulated but not usually heated garage. I will be putting in a bubbler for sure and also a heater if needed to prevent thick ice.

This is my first year trying this method of over-wintering - seems almost too easy...

Can I also put the cut-back lily (Perry's Almost Black) as well into the same tank?

Comments (6)

• buyorsell888
    12 years ago

yes

• jalal
    12 years ago

I overwintered my fish in a 300 gal tank in my insulated and not heated garage one winter only. The temps dropped to -35F during the night and I came out to find the line I had going from a pump in the tank to a filter barrel to circulate the water had frozen. The pump had a fountain head on it which ended up spraying all but 1 ft of the water out of the tank and the rest was under 2 inches of ice. Fish were okay though. Long story short if I'd had a heater in the tank and not trying to run the pump through a barrel/waterfall wouldn't have had the problem. Fish now come into my basement for the winter which will be soon as it was only 37F this morning.

• sdavis
    12 years ago

When the weather is mild in Spring there's a strong chance the fish will graze on the brittle submerse foliage of the waterlily and cripple it, putting some barrier around the waterlily to keep the fish off it will avoid that

• Sheribuch711
    12 years ago