Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
syrcais

Waterfall has stopped - clueless new homeowner

wendync
11 years ago

Hey guys,

I am in need of some help, so any advice you could give me would be great! My husband and I purchased a house about a month ago that had a waterfall feature in the backyard. I have only ever lived in condos, so I have zero experience with taking care of a lawn and outdoor plants, much less a water feature! Unfortunately, we didn't' get any care or maintenance information from the previous owners.

Today, I noticed that the waterfall wasn't running(though I know it was yesterday). The outlet out there has power, but I think that the water level had dropped much too low. I honestly didn't even know you had to fill them(I don't know, I thought rain refilled it. -.-), but after looking online, I see that it probably should have been getting water weekly. It is completely quiet out there, so whatever pump that moves the water, does not appear to be on or running.

I refilled the water with the hose to a point that appeared to be a waterlevel mark on a large rock(that looked like where the water had been in the past), so it was probably a good 6-7 inches lower than it should or use to have been at.

I took the netting out of the bottom and dumped the fallen leaves from it and put it back. What else do I need to do to get this thing running again? It has not started despite having more water, so I'm not sure what my next step is. There is no paperwork in the house about what equipment is used or a brand or instructions.

I have some pics below showing what it looked like before I refilled it. It is obviously very low and I feel silly that I never went out there and looked at it much up close. The white piece should be a few inches under the water, but it wasn't. Any advice or tips would be appreciated! Thank you!

Comments (3)

• Mike56
    11 years ago

There is much to learn as winter approches.