Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
pachhu

Need Advice

Pachhu
9 years ago

Started to build a garden pond. The place is around 300' away from the house hence using pump for cleaning the pond is not a possibility. Are there any other methods of pond cleaning.

Would like to keep aquatic plants like lily, lotus and other flowering ones. Also some fishes.

Planning around 10' X 15' in plan 1 to 3' deep. Attached photo shows the general features around. The right side area in the photo is for hugelkultur . I am using the excavated soil for that.

Please comment if pump is absolutely required. The pond is in our cottage hence we visit during weekends.

Earlier I was thinking to use this space for rainwater drainage. Now I am planning a small bog for rainwater collection and the backside will be pond.

Thanks,

Comments (9)

• fireweed22
    9 years ago

I'm not a pond professional but do have a larger pond without pump. It may not be crystal clear, but you could go with a very small number of fish, and plant it well and should be fine.
    Predators find fish, and a pond in the bush away from a weekend cabin.... Aren't likely to last. That said, a very small number of fish in a decent sized pond with vegetation don't really need feeding, either. My fish (much bigger pond) haven't been fed in6-7 years and they are breeding and doing amazing, don't expect that in your size pond.

• zzackey
    9 years ago

If you put some kind of large flat rock overhanging your pond for fish to hide you might be able to have some fish. We had koi and catfish to keep the pond clean. Our pond was about 12 feet deep in the middle.

• Pachhu
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks fireweed22 and zackey for the advice. What sort of fishes can I keep apart from koi, catfish and goldfish?

The pond size will be bigger than in the photo. At present it is 6' X 10'. I would like to make it 10' X 15' and 3' deep. Do you think the fishes will do ok? I am in zone 8A.