Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
viperhawk85

Easiest Climbing Rose?

viperhawk85
16 years ago

Hi all. I am brand new to rose gardening and was looking for advice on a climbing rose to cover a fence. I am hoping to get as many of the following attributes as possible - requiring no winter protection (if possible) in my zone 5 (Iowa), easy to grow / prune, resistent to mildew, thornless, prefer smaller or no canes. I am indifferent as to color and flower shape. I would rather my first attempt be a success than picking my favorite color, only to have the experiment fail! The list of attributes is just a wish list. I would like to hear any advice and ideas you have.

Thanks in advance. My search of the Rose forumn mostly came back with bad links for some reason...

Comments (12)

• zeffyrose
    16 years ago

I have had very good luck with New Dawn----Viking Queen ----Compassion----Albertine (once-blooming rambler)
    My zone is 6b7 ----I'm sure you will hear from people in your zone who will be able to give you more information.

welcome to the rose Forum----It is a great place to find out about roses from nice people--

Also check the Antique rose Forum.

good Luck,

Florence

• phylrae
    16 years ago

I will cut & paste what a representative of Palatine Roses wrote me just the other day about a few of their newer climbers:

"Laguna is the most fragrant climber in our line up. The hot pink old fashion quarter bloom is very stunning. However, you must know that it grows very vigorous and almost like a rambler it will need to be tied up regularly (the exact words of my father  it is all over the place). Another rose you may consider is Rosanna. We feel that it is stunning and showy. It has a globular pink bloom. It is more civilized and 10 ft tall. Rosanna has the highest tolerance to both mildew and black spot. Laguna is slightly more susceptible to mildew. Both will be OK for your Zone (zone 5a)".