Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
luisito8m

Moss Rose Help

luisito8m
12 years ago

Hello!

I apologize if this post in on the wrong section, I did my best to find the most "suitable" category.

I will be planting my first batch of Moss Rose, I am new to gardening and I have a couple of questions, I hope you guys share your expertise with me. I will be planting them under my pepper plants (next month I harvest my first batch), I have my pepper plants on 8" pots and I would like to add some color, plus after some research, Moss Rose is super tough, plus I really fell in love with this flower.

I've not even opened the packet but it sounds like the seeds are extremely tiny, perhaps like oregano.

1.- How many seeds should I plant? I don't want to kill my pepper plants.

2.- How much will I get from 1 seed? Enough to fill up 1 pot?

3.- How long will the root be at its maximum? This will tell me if I plant them directly into the pepper pot, or transplant from smaller pots.

4.- My pepper plants have aphids and miners. I do take care of them, but they always return, I have the population controlled, no chemicals, I just knock them down with water. Will those little buggers affect my moss rose?

5.- The packet says "minimal watering", I like on arid/crazy hot climate so I water my peppers a lot. Will too much water kill the moss rose? Based that it only needs little moisture?

6.- I fertilize my peppers every weekend. Miracle Grow for Tomato plants and vegetables. Will this affect my moss rose?

7.- Packet says to start planting on March-June, can I start now? I'm very excited! Hehe. :P

I know its a lot, but I am barely learning. I deeply thank you for your time!

Comments (14)

• roseseek
    12 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago