Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kathy9norcal

Drought worries

kathy9norcal
10 years ago

I have been growing roses in California for over 17 years, and we have never had a drought like we are in right now. We should have had about 8 inches of rain so far and we haven't had even 2. It is warm and spring-like with NO rain in sight.
We are already being told on our water bill that we use more than average. What am I going to do if I can't water this summer? Will I lose all my beautiful roses (and daylilies)? If I do, it is over for me. I just won't do it again. It will be too painful to bear.

Has anyone else experienced a drought which severely limited your watering ability? Is anyone else worrying like I am right now?

I know we still could get rain--it sometimes comes in March. But what is with this warm weather in January? We should be getting frosts here but instead, I have had to dig out the t-shirts to garden in.

One more question, if you are still reading. Is it better to prune severely or a bit higher if you are expecting not to have enough water? Really need to know this.

Thanks for reading this post!

Comments (28)

• kentucky_rose zone 6
    10 years ago

You may be able to recycle your bath water, dish water, etc. Good luck!

• DrPekeMom
    10 years ago

I'm worried, too, Kathy, but if your roses are established, you can probably scale back a bit on the watering this year, and see what happens next. I keep telling myself that I will be better with the water distribution--my succulent gardens will get little water in favor of keeping the roses as well possible, instead of me being ditzy about just watering the whole system and forgetting about it. Don't worry about boats that haven't arrived yet, but just think about some strategies to do more with less if you can.

This strikes me as a good year to prune lightly.

• deervssteve
    10 years ago