Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
laythss

Bud Union where is it + pruning demo

laythss
10 years ago

Hello all, I am new to roses, and i am trying to figure out how i am going to go about pruning these roses we found in our new home.
I read about cutting off old canes that turned brownish and keep new canes that are green.

I have no idea where the bud union is, and i am afraid when i start pruning next month or so, i will end up leaving canes that are below the bud union (i.e suckers)!!

i took couple of pictures with some lines of where i am thinking of cutting, and where i think the bud union is. can you please tell me if i am right or wrong.

http://layth.info/rose1.php

Many thanks,
Layth

Comments (6)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    10 years ago

Here's a diagram. Quite a few good pruning demos on You Tube.

Here is a link that might be useful: {{gwi:219138}}

• laythss
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thank you hoovb,

yeah i looked at couple of videos and diagrams already before i posted here in the last couple of days... Yet i am trying to get more personal opinions though for the hands on people on this form.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

From your pictures the bud union is that big gnarly lump at the bottom that all the canes are coming from. I don't see any canes coming from below it. I don't think any of those canes you have marked are dead wood. They are old wood but I can see green cane sprouting off of of those thick brown canes which means they are still alive. Canes will darken and get that barky look as they mature but it doesn't mean they've died. Even if you want to thin it out some I would never take more than 1/3 of the oldest canes out in any one season.