Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jenn_gw

My Granada Rejuvenation Experiment

jenn
12 years ago

We have a 40+ year old Granada that appeared to be on its last leg. It had 1 gray gnarly trunk with 2 canes at the top. We decided to try propagating a new Granada using whatever stems we could salvage.

This is my first attempt EVER at trying to propagate a new rose using any method. Most of my prior plant propagation experience involves Salvia cuttings stuck in outdoor soil wherever I want a new plant to grow, and several weeks later we have a new rooted plant in bloom! Anyway, Roses are different animals... er... plants... and I wanted to be sure I did things right.

So, I turned to this forum. I have received a lot of help from several of you, especially Kim. From all the input I received, I chose the "wrap in newspaper" method to root the cane, and this rooting method from Hartwood Roses to root the small stems at the top.

So, let the experiment begin! I thought I'd start a new thread to chronicle the project. Whether or not it succeeds, I'm hoping some of us can learn something from this. I'm calling it our "Granada Rejuvenation Experiment".

I begin with a picture of one of her beautiful blooms, taken last year...

{{gwi:220404}}

... and here is the plant that produced that bloom last year. Believe it or not, I did feed, water, and mulch it yearly.

{{gwi:220406}}

So my husband cut off the upper cane (I don't know what happened to the lower one) and put it in a barrel of water to soak in the shade until we decided what to do....

{{gwi:220409}}

... and cut the trunk down to the ground. :(

{{gwi:220410}}