Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
desertdance

Help!! I Want this rose! Rosa canina

I've searched the web. Nothing!! Anyone know where I can buy it? Please?

Comments (41)

• geo_7a
    15 years ago

I believe edible landscaping (in Va.) has this, and they ship yearround.

• len511
    15 years ago

May we ask why? It was once used as a rootstock, but it suckered too much.

• Suzi AKA DesertDance So CA Zone 9b
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I am a gourmet cook, and I love to make wine and cure olives, and this rose has the best hips. Let it sucker!! I want it!!
    I want it to make jelly with it's hips. so...... where can i get it???

• geo_7a
    15 years ago

I realize I don't exist (married, 6 kids), but the rose (if you want to pay the price) can be found @ ediblelandscaping.com

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    15 years ago

There are apparently variations on Rosa canina. This place in California has it. Geo, VA is a long way from CA, meaning shipping might be quite high, perhaps desert is looking for a source closer to California. And anyone married 6 kids sure does exist and probably very busy with not a minute to rest, a minute to herself, always caring for her husband and little ones. Blessings upon you.

Here is a link that might be useful: california seller of Rosa canina

Original Author
    15 years ago

geo 7a and hoovb thank you so much! I just registered for HMF. What a great site! I put in a request to purchase the rose and if I don't hear back from them soon, I'll contact the nursery in VA. It was also great reading the comments about the rose. There is a lovely picture of it's rose hips covered with snow. It doesn't snow here, so I hope it will grow without snow! I now know it will grow very tall, so that gives me an idea where to put it!

And hoovb said it correctly about 6 kids! I couldn't have said it better!

Thank you so very much!!

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    15 years ago