Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vsls31712

Soil for new rose garden

VSls31712
10 years ago

I'm very new to roses and want to start off on the right foot. My wife and I have cleared a gravel area for two roses we plan to put in. The soil there was heavy clay and dirty (ex: had concrete and other rock in it). We dug out about 8 inches depth to remove all this and started seeing cleaner dirt, still heavy clay though. I need to fill it with something, but not sure exactly what. We have this company locally and they have these options:

http://www.pioneersand.com/az/top_soil_soil_mixes.htm

Or should I just get some top soil and make my own mix, but with what? I'm open to any suggestions, like I said just want to get started off on the right foot. Thank you in advance.

Vicente

Comments (4)

• kingcobbtx7b
    10 years ago

It really depends on where you live I guess. In the houston/galveston area we have a lot of clay. My roses have done wonderful in it.

When I put in my main bed, I did play with improving the soil. I bought a bunch of bags of Lady Bug rose magic.

http://www.ladybugbrand.com/products/Rose-Magic.asp

My roses are doing great for the last 2 years there. If you have the funds to use on it and you are really worried about your soil, go for it.

Most of my roses though that aren't in that bed were just planted in the clay soil and have done well. If clay soil is good enough to be considered some of the best farm land in Texas, I can't really knock it for growing my roses.

• roseblush1
    10 years ago

Love those rocks ! Of course it depends on the size of the rocks ... lol.