Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jjpeace

What is your garden style?

I have always admired the formal garden style when I was a student majoring in Art history at university. I am very influenced by the European formal gardens. At the same time, I love the "Romantic style" which is more natural and wild yet paid homage to nature and otherworldliness.

However, in reality my garden is much more cottage garden type or at best a pottager type of garden with its mixed vegetables and roses. I tried to use recycled stones and used many broken stones which makes things less than formal perfect.

Every summer as I look at my garden, I find that what I have in my mind and what is reality are worlds apart. Don't misunderstand me, it is not like I am disappointed or anything, just that it does not reflect what my "sanctuary" is.
I am therefore curious about all of your experiences. Does your garden reflect what your garden style is?

Comments (33)

• aegis1000
    9 years ago

Gardening style ...

Cottagey, informal, woodsy ...

• smithdale
    9 years ago

Very pretty, aegis500, I do love pinks.
    My garden style is practical(no lawn), romantic(lots of roses & perennials) Cottage. For me this also means having lots of cuttings from other people's gardens as well as fruit trees & bushes. During the summer I love going out to pick roses & raspberries.
    Jane

• nanadollZ7 SWIdaho
    9 years ago

Aegis, you have the look I crave, but can never have. That beautiful green lush look with lots of pink superimposed against the green. I love it!

Here in the semi-arid desert, with 10 inches of precipitation in a decent year (we actually had more this year-yay), it's hard to be green, and the blazing summer sun makes light pink look white at best, and gray- blah at worst. So, though I have my pinks, I use yellow, dark reds, and purples a lot more.

Here's my view directly out back to give you the idea.

Diane

• frenchcuffs13
    9 years ago