Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jasminerose4u

My rose bush died and I don't know why

I am new to rose gardening and I killed my first rose, "Amber Glow", a miniature. It was a young healthy, leafy rose bush. Then the leaves fell off and the canes turned black. It had a good looking root system. I don't know if it had too much sun or not enough. Would a sunlight monitor work? I'm also thinking of purchasing a moisture meter. I caught the rose bug and have quite a few roses on order this spring. I need to know what I'm doing before they arrive and would appreciate your advice. Thanks.

Comments (12)

• roseseek
    10 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Jasminerose, was the rose potted, or planted in the ground? Was it indoors or outside? If potted and outside, what size and kind of pot was it planted in? From your description, I would guess it was potted and growing indoors. No matter what you read, unless you take drastic measures, roses are NOT indoor plants. They require much more sunlight than they can receive indoors. They need more air flow and humidity than anything indoors can provide without significant adjustments of the growing conditions. Kim

• Jasminerose, California, USDA 9b/Sunset 18
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Kim: