Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mrsh1228

Caring for new roses

MrsH1228
10 years ago

Hello,
I am a teacher whose principal decided to replace our school's vegetable gardens with rose bushes. I am the lucky person in charge of 75 newly planted hybrid tea roses.

They were planted by county workers with no soil prep on Dec 18. I generously watered them daily for the first month. They don't seem stressed. Some have started sending up red canes or red leaf buds.

I have a problem already with black spot so I have sprayed them with liquid copper.

I have a couple of questions.
Do I have to pluck all the leaves that are spotted to avoid the spread of the fungus?

Should I fertilize these new plants? And if so, when?

I know the last week in January is the week to prune roses, but I don't know if these young bushes should be cut back.

Is there anything I should know about establishing new bushes?

My ex husband had a lovely rose garden and I know the basics from his work. But his roses were established. I don't know about these babies.

Any help would be great!

Comments (10)

• MrsH1228
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Thank you for the fast response and good advice. The roses and I are in Apopka, FL. We are just northwest of Orlando.

• growing_rene2
    10 years ago

Hi & welcome Mrs. H! I am a teacher too, and trying to get a garden for school through a grant & am quite envious of your new responsibility. :) Kim's advice is always great so I am not going to offer more since I am clueless about your zone. However, I have been thinking that some of my students would do so well learning while having fun in the garden, though I teach science & it would go right with several lessons. I hope you will be able to incorporate it into your plans since it is now "all yours." Good luck & have fun!

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago