Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
garden_grammie

Please help me plan my zone 6 rose garden

garden_grammie
16 years ago

Hi all. I am new to rose gardening and need some help planning how to position and choose roses for a new bed in front of our deck. The area get morning and early afternoon sun and is 5 feet wide and 30 feet long. After looking through the JP catalog, roses that have caught my eye are

Double Delight

Veterans Honor

Our Lady of Guadalope

Gemini

Pope John Paul

Fragrant Cloud

Iceberg

On order I have Quietness and Mary Rose.

Is it best to stay with just a few choices and buy 2 or 3 of that?

As you can see I am at a complete loss as how to place the roses as far as color etc.

I seem to like white, pink and reds.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (8)

• harryshoe zone6 eastern Pennsylvania
    16 years ago

Grammie,
    Our area is the black spot capital of the world. Are willing to maintain a serious spray program? Most of us began with Hybrid Tea roses like the ones on your list. Many of us added other types after we found out about black spot and the fact that Hybrid Tea roses didn't always survive our winters.

You should consider Austin roses, shrub roses and OGR roses. They do look "different" at first, but tend to grow on you. They are generally more hardy and disease resistant here.

• harryshoe zone6 eastern Pennsylvania
    16 years ago

I meant to add that Quietness (a Buck rose) and Mary Rose (an Austin rose) may be more satisfying for you.

• cecily
    16 years ago

Hi Grammie,
    Given the size of your new rose bed, I think you have room for six or seven roses -- they will be much healthier and easier to care for if you don't squeeze too many in. Underplanting with perennials and annuals will make the bed look lush.