Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
scottfam125

which mulch is better for roses???

Hi everyone, Could you please tell me which mulch you think roses would prefer, pine needles or hardwood mulch or nuggets? I'm a newbie to roses and would like to get them off to a good start. Thank you, Judy

Comments (21)

• silverkelt
    16 years ago

compost is what I use...

Do you have room to start a compost pile?

I would personally use the pine needles after they have been composted a bit over mulches. I do use a mulch in my front border becuase it is a bit dressier... however, I got that for free as well, from work crews cutting down trees on the side of the road, they created massive piles, I kept bring my little station wagon back and grabbing it. The more I fill in the bed though the less I would use them. Compost is really the way to go!

Silverkelt

• sherryocala
    16 years ago

This winter I have had a source for free horse manure compost so that's what I've been using. Before that I was going to use hardwood from a tree service company or a sawmill, because the hardwood decomposes pretty quickly into black soil, effectively improving your soil. I have used pine straw for its acidifying characteristic. It may not be much, but I was doing everything I could to lower the PH. I have used oak leaves from my trees, too, also acidifying. I would not use bark.

Sherry

• duchesse_nalabama
    16 years ago

I like to use coffee grounds, shredded leaves, pine needles, composted horse manure - I've even been known to go scrape off the decayed grass and leaves in the street in front of houses on my street and haul it home to my gardens.

I filch grass clippings bagged in the neighborhood, am a regular at the Starbucks for their free used grounds. I've ground up old bananas and peelings in a blender and poured it on the base of plants. Alfalfa sludge from alfalfa tea or just the pellets or meal.

The roses are thriving, and I think it's from the attention paid to the soil.