Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
motherjan

Have your roses survived this COLD winter?

motherjan
10 years ago

I am in the greater Cleveland, Ohio area. The gentleman who is going to work my gardens was here to prune my roses...but he said.after looking at them closely that he is afraid I lost most of them because of the terrible winter we have had. He suggested we wait until they should bud to be sure. I have a lot of money tied up in them and are praying they will be ok.

Have any of you in zone 5 checked yours?

Comments (47)

• growing_rene2
    10 years ago

I am not sure yet but some are not looking so well. :(

• bman1920
    10 years ago

I'm new to rose gardening but I would give them a chance. If they are own root or buried graft you got a good chance I think. But as I said I'm a newbie I'm sure the pros will respond. I have a lot of own root first winter bands in the ground so your not the only one. I can't even look. I still have 2 feet of snow cover. So good luck to all of us!

• Susanne27
    10 years ago

I am in Ontario and am still under about 3 feet of snow so this isn't an issue for me yet. As Nippstress says, I wait until the snow is gone and the buds start to swell and then it becomes pretty evident what is alive and what is dead on the plant. I usually have to cut back pretty low in my climate, depending on the hardiness of the rose, but it is amazing how they spring back as soon as they get some warmth and rain.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

Way too early to prune and even earlier to tell if they're dead or not. I don't know who your pruner is but I don't think he knows much about roses. If you still have snow cover there's no way of knowing what has survived below that. Many of your roses could still be alive under the snow. You don't want to prune anything off until they are clear of snow and growth buds have started to fatten. That's when you'll be able to tell what is dead and what is viable cane.