Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
lindsey5809

pruning giant rose bush

lindsey5809
10 years ago

Hi everyone,

I'm ready to give up on this huge rose bush. I have lived here a couple years and only seen a few flowers, because it is more like a tree and has a million criss crossing canes that weave along its "trunk" and then the big poof of leaves and green canes at the top. It's covering an ugly metal pole along my driveway so I hesitate just to hack it to the ground.
But the problem pruning it is that I can cut a cane I know should go, but then there is no way I can pull it out from the bush -- way too tangled. Do you have any suggestions? I'm pretty new to roses. Should I just cut it to the top of this metal pole (maybe 5 ft high) and then try to start over?

Comments (16)

• AnneCecilia z5 MI
    10 years ago

A photo would help us help you, if you could post one.

But I can tell you from experience that trying to pull a long cane out of a large shrub is dangerous - for you! What you do instead is find the cane you want to remove and cut it back in small sections and it will be much easier to untangle and remove, say 1 ft. chunks (or maybe 2 ft if there aren't any laterals woven in among other canes.) But make sure you have on your gloves, long sleeved shirt and safety glasses!
    You may look at this as a longer than one afternoon project. Cut a cane or two into pieces and get them out of the way and take a break, studying the whole shrub and looking to see what should come out next. Take it a little at a time and you'll soon have it shaped up to your satisfaction.

• buford
    10 years ago

Can you post a picture? Most of the time, pruning an old rose can bring it back to life. What you can do is start at the top and remove what you can, then work from the outside in and remove the intertwining canes. It may take awhile, but it will be worth it.

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago