Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kpaquette_gw

HI! An introduction and I'm new to roses

kpaquette
12 years ago

Hi everyone! I've been lurking over the winter here and in the Antique rose forum...I am an infrequent poster over in the New England gardening forum (I live in Newport, RI.) I am a new-ish gardener and stayed away from roses because I'd heard about how persnickety they can be - but I can't stay away! I am going to try a couple in my garden this year and would LOVE input. A bit about my garden - it's small, more like a patio surrounded by beds. This is my first garden, as prior I'd always lived in the city (or apartments.) So when we renovated our house 4 years ago, I hired someone to do the design and install. I love the outcome, but as I've learned gardening is, am reworking the main hot bed to be a cutting garden. And I need to figure out the arbor.

I am looking for both a climber for my arbor (8x3 white arch, very sturdy) and a bush that is good for cut flowers, stays relatively compact or likes pruning and can take a hot bed (full sun.) Pale pink in color. And since I'm a beginner, something relatively disease free. I don't mind a little spraying but don't want to be a slave to it - I have a 50+ year old trumpet vine trained up the back fence and it completely defoliates due to black spot if I don't spray it constantly. Since it's tops are 15 feet tall, I can't reach. So It's days might be numbered. ;)