Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fluffybutt

Please help me choose a climbing rose

fluffybutt
11 years ago

I'm a newbie to roses other than knockouts, but I do love to garden. I would like to get a climbing rose for the spot on the fireplace wall. The existing trellis will be removed and replaced with a new one on the wall. Zone 7, the spot gets afternoon sun around 1pm or so, and the soil is heavy clay which will be amended with peat moss and cow manure. I would like something very disease resistant. Oh and I thought pink would work best against the house color. What do you think? Would Laguna, Meteor or Parade work here, or do you have any other suggestions. I was set on getting Zephirine Drouhin until I did a little research and read about all of the black spot issues. Also, what size range would be best? I'd like it to go up the trellis but not take over the place. I'd really appreciate your help!

Comments (12)

• intris
    11 years ago

I do not grow it, but I've heard wonderful things about "New Dawn." It is a large flowered pink climber and part of the "earth friendly" collection. Meaning it is very disease resistant.

I looked up Laguna as well. Again, I have not grown this one either, but it is a newer Kordes. Kordes started a breeding program about 25 years ago where they do not spray any of their roses. The modern Kordes, as a result, are very disease resistant. IF you can find it in the United States, I would imagine that that is a very good bush. Kordes is a German breeder, so not all of their roses make it to the United States.

Here is a link that might be useful: HMF - New Dawn

• deervssteve
    11 years ago

I got a Galway Bay from Hortico years ago and it is a great rose.

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    11 years ago

'Laguna' is vigorous and I do not think it would fit into a space that size. Mine is 15' wide and 10' tall. Also nasty wicked thorns. (Otherwise it is nice.)