Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vsls31712

Newbie with rose issues

VSls31712
10 years ago

I'm new to roses and trying to figure out how to take care of them. This is a Firefighter rose and the leaves seem to be drying out for me, at least that is what it looks like. I posted a picture and hopefully you can see what I am talking about. Even the blooms seem to be drying out. This rose did have aphids on it last week which I took care of with soap and have yet to see them come back. Could the soap have done this to the rose?

My maintenance for the roses is weekly watering, shooting for about one inch. I'm shooting for monthly fertilizing with soybean meal at a rate of 1 cup per rose. I'm due for a fertilizing next weekend. I debate adding in a foliar feeding as well.

Thank you in advance.

Comments (10)

• VSls31712
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Another rose that sits next to the Firefighter is the Peter Mayle. It's starting to show little black dots. It has the same maintenance as the Firefighter.

Thank you again and I'm in very much need of advice and suggestions for better care of the roses. Maybe I'm watering too much, we're hitting 80s so its not too hot just yet. I don't know, but look forward to your responses.

• cecily
    10 years ago

Dish soap in hot weather will certainly burn the foliage, looks like you fried Firefighter. In the future, just squish the aphids with your fingers.

For best results, please consider using a complete rose food like Espoma Rose Tone.

How much to water depends alot on your soil type -- sandy? clay? If you tell us what city/state you live in, you will receive better regional advice.

• VSls31712
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Cecily, thank you for the response and good to know about the dish soap....I had no idea! Would it be good to keep some neem oil on hand? I'll also look into a more complete rose food for this coming feeding.