Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
heavenlyfarm

Help! Is it to early to plant rose bushes??

heavenlyfarm
15 years ago

Ok so I'm new to growing roses. I just bought a 'New Day' tea hybrid rose and a 'Moonlight Magic' tea hybrid rose a few days ago at Kmart. The bag said to plant immediately upon arrival or purchase so I did but now I just thought are those directions actually accurate? Usually I reference with people and make sure it is okay to plant but I just was so excited to get them planted and started that I didn't bother to think the planting time over until I saw that some of you say it's too early to prune or fertilize. So is it okay to plant them now? The 'new day' was planted 3 days ago and shows no sign of wilting but it's been quite warm recently. I also plan on buying a few more..hehe actually quite alot soon since they are my new obsession..so is it ok to plant them in the ground?? I just don't want to make a mistake and kill them.

~mike

PA, zone 6

Comments (10)

• zack_lau z6 CT ARS Consulting Rosarian
    15 years ago

Now is a great time to plant bare root roses--after the super cold weather that can kill the canes and before it warms up too much. We have already started planting our bare roots in CT.

• dan_keil_cr Keil
    15 years ago

Make sure that you soak it in water for a few days. I'm 5b and I bury the bud union 6"down under the soil to help protect it from the cold. I'm planning on planting some today!

• michaelg
    15 years ago

Since you referred to a bag, I infer these are inexpensive bare-root roses. Since you refer to wilting, I infer the plants had already started into growth. That's not desirable since the plants don't have fine roots established and-- more importantly-- the new growth will be killed by temperatures around 27 F.