Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bamadude01

Buying Knockout Roses

Bamadude01
10 years ago

About to buy 20 double knockout roses and needing to know what to look for when I hand select each plant. I am buying from a local nursery. This is my first time buying rose bushes. Also, would like some advice on what potting soil to use and fertilizer. Thanks in advance!

Comments (17)

• boncrow66
    10 years ago

I have knock outs around my flag pole and they are very hardy. I would pick plants that are healthy and green. I usually put some good potting or garden soil in the hole and feed it some of your favorite fertilizer and then water frequently for a few weeks till the roots are established and they will bloom like crazy for you. I grow other roses as well besides knock outs but I love my knock outs because they make a great hedge. Enjoy!

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

Are you potting all these or planting them? Where are you located? Zone? Are they potted at the nursery or bare rooted? All these thing could make a difference in what to do.

• Bamadude01
    Original Author
    10 years ago

thanks for the replies! I am planting all of the knockouts along my fence to make a hedge. I went to my local nursery the other day and looked at the KO roses they had and some had thick bases and some did not. I know the answer to my question but just wanted another source of info before I buy and what to look in buying KO. These are all potted plants. I am in zone 7b in Alabama. Thanks for the help and I am already learning more and more about the hedging of roses!

• rhizo_1 (North AL) zone 7
    10 years ago

Unless your native soil is absolutely deplorable, it is not recommended that you use a potting soil or other amendment when planting. Unless, that is, you are going to dig up and prepare the entire bed. Plants simply do better when planted into native soil.