Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dregae

questioning pruning advice and other things

I just heard a new bit of pruning advice that is leaving me scratching my head, and before I go and run my big mouth and be wrong I thought I would see what others think.

The advice was to only leave last years new growth and cut everything out to feed the roots. My husband's uncle told this to my MOL who then promptly whacked her Abe Darby and HT Pascal. I'll be honest I had never heard this before and generally this uncle is VERY knowledgeable about gardening in general (other than the fact that he was calling his roses tea roses when they are actually hybrid teas) so everyone always takes his advice. Well I am not an expert, but.....(insert me here scratching my head in befuddlement) Is this advice worth listening to or laughing at(to myself of course)

The other head scratcher I heard was from a lady I know who was telling me how her roses' colors are always getting messed up due to cross pollination as well as getting pink spots all the time from this "cross pollination". Okay I know what the pink spots are from, and I know roses don't change colors because a bee decided to jump from a pink rose to a yellow rose, but I didn't say anything just shook my head and nodded mainly because I didn't know what to say without out sounding like a snark. What would you have said, keeping in mind that this lady is a very good friend.

grace e

Comments (10)

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    11 years ago

Pink spots on a rose is a fungal disease called Botrytis. Simply point out the facts with diplomacy, something like, "That's interesting! I have read several places that say..."

Here is a link that might be useful: botrytis on roses article.

• seil zone 6b MI
    11 years ago