Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Touch of Class--Hybrid tea

Posted by dove_song WA State Z6b (My Page) on
Thu, Mar 20, 14 at 18:43

Hi!

I've lately been intrigued by the exotic, coral coloration I've seen of TOUCH OF CLASS after this winter. Totally lovin' this 1st day of spring!! Sooo I purchased one in anticipation of that tropical, coral color that I've only seen in photos. I plan on planting it in a protected area of my garen. Please share with me your TOC photos and experiences in growing it. :)

This post was edited by dove_song on Thu, Mar 20, 14 at 19:14

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Touch of Class--Hybrid tea

I personally haven't grown Touch of Class, so I'm not an expert, but I will tell you about my sister's experience with it, she lives in Zone 7a, Oklahoma. I'm not even sure how many years it has been, but several years ago I gave her 4 roses that I ordered from Regan. They struggled along for awhile and all but the Touch of Class finally gave up and it is the only one that survived. I happened to be at her home today and saw it, it is huge! It is loaded with thick, healthy green canes and I am sure it must be at least 8 ft. tall, it looks very healthy. This did take several years to achieve, but some of those years included some really hot and dry summers and at least a couple of colder than normal winters. I do wish her camera had captured the coral color a little better, she sent me this picture a couple of years ago.

This post was edited by Sara-Ann on Thu, Mar 20, 14 at 20:52

o

• Posted by kousa Zone 6 (My Page) on
    Thu, Mar 20, 14 at 21:32

It is very susceptible to powdery mildew, but it blooms consistently.

o

Oh Wow--sooo gorgeous!! I'm feeling extra excited now. Thanks for sharing these photos and for sharing what you know about this beauty, Sara-Ann and Kousa!! :)

o