Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
becca_e

When do roses bloom?

becca_e
16 years ago

I know this is a rather basic question... but I was wondering if anyone can tell me when roses typically begin to bloom and when they typically stop blooming (what months)? I'm a writer, and I'm working on a short story that involves roses as an important motif, and I want to make sure I got that detail right. Thanks :)

Comments (17)

• jerijen
    16 years ago

Becca, It will vary every year with the weather pattern, but basically, it will depend upon where your story is set.
    In Southern California, our roses are beginning to bloom.

Jeri

• sam0ny4b
    16 years ago

For Virginia , I would guess April showers bring May flowers.

• patricianat
    16 years ago

I notice you have VA by your name, so I assume you are talking about Virginia. I live in Alabama and I count on my rose show being anywhere between April 25-May 10 (the big show). This can vary based on weather. Last year they were frozen on Easter Sunday and there was no "big show." With the worst drought since the Civil War, there was not much after that but high water bills.

I believe Pat Henry in Upstate, SC, normally has her open house around Mother's Day, so that is the second Sunday (I think) in May, and that would be closer to your time than mine.

• anntn6b
    16 years ago

It totally depends on where your story is set and what kinds of roses you are talking about: moderns, old garden roses or species.

• hoovb zone 9 sunset 23
    16 years ago

And don't forget the Black Spot and Japanese Beetles. ;^)

• brhgm
    16 years ago

Roses start blooming in February or March here. We have had a few cold days late this year and so many plants have been delayed despite a generally warm winter.

• canadian_rose
    16 years ago

I get roses in early July - sigh.

:)
    Carol

• karl_bapst_rosenut
    16 years ago