Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
gmanar_gw

Are these Aphids on my roses ?

gmanar
10 years ago

Hi All,

I planted these roses last fall, I see new leaves coming up. I am pretty new to roses.

I have some small insects - are these aphids ?
If so would neem oil spray work ? Do i need to spray till i really get them off the plant ?

Any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments (11)

• Maude80
    10 years ago

Yes, those are definitely aphids... Creepy looking aren't they. A hard spray of water from the hose will usually knock them off. Last summer when I had a pretty bad infestation of them, I ordered about 5,000 lady bugs.

I released them into my garden, and within a week, no more aphids..

• gmanar
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Hi Maude,

Thanks for the reply. I had some spinach last winter under covers (pvc hoop house) and it was also infested with these on the underside of the leaves.

Do these thrive in a specific environment. I am asking - because i am trying to see if i am doing something wrong - to promote these things.

Also i had some lady bugs in my garden last year, i hope they return this year too :), but i would like to know if you order and release some lady bugs would they stay ? would they not go away ?

Lastly it would be great help if you can give me some links where i could order them. I am planning a vegetable raised bed. I did some experiments last time and this time i am in it a little more seriously, so i am thinking no harm getting the lady bugs - if i can hopefully make them stay :)

Thanks a lot
    Gmanar.

• socks
    10 years ago

Use water, better for the environment and other beneficial insects which eat aphids and other baddies. You create a healthier ecosystem in your garden that way. No guarantees ladybugs will stay, but it's worth a try. I get them at my local nursery.

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    10 years ago