Return to the Roses Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
how to recognize a climber/rambler vs a regular rose?

Posted by ittayd none (My Page) on
Wed, Apr 23, 14 at 9:20

Hi,

I'm completely new to roses and gardening, so forgive me if my question is very basic (I couldn't find it in the FAQ).

I bought a bunch of roses. According to the nursery, they are climbers. But to me they look like ordinary plants. I don't see any ways they could cling to whatever they are climbing on (in my case steel posts). This is vs vines for example that have "tentacles" for latching.

So, how do I recognize a climber (or rambler, I understand both climb, but can't figure out the distinction in the final result)

Regards,
Ittay

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: how to recognize a climber/rambler vs a regular rose?

Climbing roses are rose bushes with long, flexible branches that can be tied to the fence. They will never develop 'tentacles' like a grape vine. Ramblers are extremely large climbing roses that bloom once per year (in spring). A climbing rose will cover an archway. A rambler will cover the whole garage.

When your new roses become established, they will send up new canes (branches) that will be soft and flexible. These are the canes that you will tie to the fence. You can use various materials to fasten the canes to the fence (twine, old pantyhose, etc). I hope this helps.

o
RE: how to recognize a climber/rambler vs a regular rose?

• Posted by seil z6b MI (My Page) on
    Wed, Apr 23, 14 at 10:34

As Cecily said climbers do not have tendrils, like vines do, to latch on to things and climb on their own. They must be trained and tied to trellises and supports in order to do climbing. If left untrained or unsupported they will form large fountaining bushes.