Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mojavelove

Getting my first rose today

MojaveLove
11 years ago

I've been lurking here for a few months and have asked questions and asked for help on picking out a rose for a container. I have spent countless hours going through websites and Help Me Find and every time I do that I find 20 more that I love that would do well in a container.

So what I'm just going to do is go to a garden center nearby that has won awards in their industry. I'm just going to pick something out there. Makes it easier for me lol...no over thinking AND I can see what I'm getting. And I'm supporting a local small business.

Question - say I end up picking something that grows larger than I would like - I'm looking for something that doesn't get beyond 3' x 3'. Can I root prune and cane prune to keep the size down? This works for other plants so I can't see why not but I'm no expert and that's why I'm here :)

Also, my shopping list for the soil please add suggestions if needed:

- soil

- bloodmeal

- perlite and mulch (already have at home)

And pruners. Got gloves.

Thanks for your help and patience, I know newbie questions can get repetitive, I'm great with houseplants but don't have a garden to call my own yet so am testing the waters with containers. Last year I failed miserably with a tomato plant but I didn't treat it correctly either.

Comments (17)

• strawchicago z5
    11 years ago

If you grow roses in a container, aim for a neutral pH potting soil. Acidic potting soil like the green bag MiracleGro (pH of 6.5) encourages blackspots. Alkalinity discourages fungal growth, and if your soil is alkaline like mine, put a small amount in the potting soil for beneficial bacteria and to increase the pH.

My 13 band-size roses are in Organic MiracleGro potting soil (neutral pH of 7), mixed with a small amount of garden soil, so it's pH is now 7.2. None of them have fungal diseases, including the mini roses (very disappointing TINY).