Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
alisande_gw

Rose thorn infection? (On me, not rose.)

alisande
16 years ago

A thorn went deep into the back of my right hand yesterday, about an inch below the ring finger knuckle. It was painful, and at first I thought the tip was still imbedded under the skin. I squeezed it (not much to squeeze on the back of the hand) and washed it and applied a little alcohol. I don't think any of the thorn was left behind.

Today there's a red streak from the entry point to the knuckle (at the base of the finger), and it hurts to use that finger. Normally I would blow off such a small thing, but I remember what Patrick went through last year. This doesn't sound like his experience (no lumps or bumps), but I'm wondering if I should have it checked out if it's not better tomorrow.

I really really don't want to, so I thought I'd consult with you guys first. Diagnoses, please . . .

Thanks!

Susan

Comments (25)

• york_rose
    16 years ago

I'm not a medical professional of any kind, but I know if it was me I would not at all like seeing a red streak like that.

• karl_bapst_rosenut
    16 years ago

Get thee to a doctor, pronto. Tell him it's a rose thorn. When one gets into a knuckle it can get quite serious and is easier to fix if treated sooner rather than later.
    I would hope your tetanus shot is up to date!
    Do a Google search for Rose thorn disease.

Here is a link that might be useful: Rose Thorn diseases on Google

• ehann
    16 years ago

Red streaks are bad. And that's a lot of progress overnight. If I were you, I'd go to an doctor tomorrow. (If you start running a temp over 101, or the finger becomes more painful than it is now, I'd even suggest you go to an urgent care or ER) Sometimes these infections progress very quickly.

What I do is take an ink pen and circle right around the red area, that way you can tell if it's growing.

Elaine, rn

• michelle_co
    16 years ago