Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kansas_girl

Should I get a new one?

kansas.girl
9 years ago

I'm sorry, I know I've been asking a lot of questions. I'm a newbie and I just really want these roses to grow! I keep getting mixed information from Google.

I planted my bare root Peace roses this morning in a pot-- after soaking overnight. First of all, they already have tall, bright green things coming out of the canes, and there are a lot of small leaves covering them. Second, when I was examining the roots I noticed that a few of the thick ones were broken and the system doesn't seem very large. I thought there were supposed to be more roots. Also, the top of one of the canes is a little blackened.

I can exchange the plant for a new one if I need to, I just need to know if I should. If I do, can I reuse the soil that I used for this one? I JUST planted it this morning. Thanks!

Comments (12)

• kansas.girl
    Original Author

Thank you very much! I sincerely appreciate all of your advice!

• kansas.girl
    Original Author

• kansas.girl
    Original Author

• kansas.girl
    Original Author

This post was edited by kansas.girl on Fri, Apr 25, 14 at 20:38

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

If the garden place where you bought the rose is willing to exchange it, why not go back and get one you like better! You are right--you'd like really good roots and not much going on up on top and definitely no blackened tips.

I take it you are buying them bareroot? Isn't it kinda of late for bareroots? I'd think you'd be better off buying potted ones--or has it been colder in zone 5? Here in zone 6, I usually plant bareroots between mid-March and end of March, occasionally into early April.

If for some reason you can't return the rose, trim back those blackened tips and keep it out of the afternoon sun for awhile--until it has time to settle in good.

Re-using the soil should not cause any problems.

Good luck.

Kate

• kansas.girl
    Original Author
    9 years ago