Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
subk3

Awkward RRD situation...

subk3
11 years ago

I'm a rose newbie, I have my first 6 bands sitting in pots. I have no practical experience but instead hours of internet research. I found a local Consulting Rosarian/Master Rosarian to talk to a few weeks ago. It turns out she lives a mile away as the crow flies--or as the mite blows--up wind.

My first questions to her were about the possibility of growing OGRs in any thing less than a high maintenance situation. (She thought I was woefully uninformed.) My next questions for her concerned my discovery of RRD on multiflora on my back fence line and beyond it in my neighbor's field. At the time I thought it was 2 or 3 of bushes. She was pretty horrified that is was as close as 100 yards from my garden and was skeptical about any roses until it was eradicated. Then she said the roses she lost to RRD must have gotten from my multiflora. I laughed and said they weren't MY multiflora but the neighbor's--I was just stuck dealing with them.

Since that discussion I've eradicated both healthy and diseased multiflora by the dozens from my neighbor's field--much worse than I first thought--with more work to do! I've gotten quite good a recognizing RRD on multiflora and I see it everywhere around here along roads and in bushy fence lines--everywhere there are invasive exotics and we have a lot of invasive exotics.

Today I wanted to find her house and drive by to see if I could see her roses from the car. Not only is there RRD on several multiflora between here and there, she has multiflora with RRD along the road directly across from her house. She thought my 100 yards was close!!