Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
dizzylizzy415

Upcoming freeze

dizzylizzy 7b
10 years ago

I live in Birmingham, Alabama, and the temperatures have fluctuated so much this spring it is crazy. Today got above 80 degrees, but a storm is coming in tomorrow and the forecast for Wednesday morning is 32 degrees. My newly planted roses have already set buds. I am new at growing roses and have pampered these like crazy. What should I do to avoid losing the new growth and buds? Any advice?

Comments (26)

• seil zone 6b MI
    10 years ago

I can feel your pain. It was a glorious 79 and sunshine here today. Tomorrow we are all down hill for temperatures with T storms and Tuesday we're going to be 30 high and 25 low with snow. Sheesh I'm tired of this.

If it's only going to 32 and only for a few hours at night they should be fine. It takes temperatures down below about 27 degrees for a prolonged period of time to do damage to the roses. If you are worried and you have some frost cover you can use that but I don't think it's necessary. DO NOT use plastic of any kind on them. The problem with using any type of cover in a storm is that it gets wet and heavy and can end up doing more damage by breaking things than the storm would have done.

• buford
    10 years ago

32 degrees is fine. You may notice some flowers that open even 2-3 weeks from now are distorted. That happens when the temps get low while the buds are forming.

• dizzylizzy 7b
    Original Author
    10 years ago