Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
nursethrice

My roses are literally hanging their heads in shame.

Thrice
9 years ago

I'm still new to rose gardening. I planted two bushes recently in my yard, a HT and a floribunda. The HT looked kind of sad to begin with, but it's looking better after some pruning and antifungal spray...for now. The floribunda looked happy and healthy for about two weeks; now it's starting to droop on me. Just the buds and new growth, mainly, and nothing looks yellow or crispy. I'd been watering it daily, seeing as how crazy hot and dry it's been here lately, but now I wonder if I've overwatered. The soil around it is a blend of rose soil that the nursery recommended and plain garden dirt. It is moist, but no standing water. It's in a spot that gets good, but not 100%, sun.

I feel like a gardening failure. I've pruned off a lot of the new buds to give it a breather, but I really hope it'll recover. Any recommendations?

Comments (5)

• jacqueline9CA
    9 years ago

I would prune it down to about 2 feet from the ground, if it is not there already. When you transplant bushes which are already leafed out and covered with buds, they can die if they do not have an adequate root structure yet (or the roots were damaged in planting) to handle the top growth. The roses need some time to grow new roots. Then it will start putting out new growth.

Oh, whatever you do, do not feed it until it has recuperated and is putting out new growth.

Jackie

• nikthegreek
    9 years ago

'Drooping' is a sign of thirst. If your roses are not drowning (because that has the same effect as thirst) then you will need to water them more frequently until they are established somewhat. If you are in a hot place, that might mean daily watering or even twice daily for the whole of their first summer.
    Nik

• Thrice
    Original Author
    9 years ago