Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jameya

questions about roses, and catnip...

jameya
9 years ago

Hello all,
Okay, so I am new to growing things and have recently planted 13 different roses. ( I might of got to excited about the pretty pictures on the circle bag the grade 1 and half come in, and didn't realize all the work and care it will take for them lol). I have another rose that I have had about 4 years now and moved it a year ago when I bought a home. Last week I noticed it has rust on it and it even went to a one small new rose I recently planted, so I went out and got the bayer 3 n 1...last year it got bombarded by japanese beetles so I sprayed sevin on it. I have been reading on this great forum posts from years ago and seen someone said that if you get catnip and plant it around your roses that the smell or something in it can keep most of the bad crawlies away...has anyone tried this or heard of it?? I went out and got about 10 seed packages of catnip but then got to thinking I don't know what I'm doing anyway, so I should prolly ask the experts here...if not, I can grow it somewhere else, but I was trying to find a way to where I won't have to spray at all, or hopefully not much, and if this works, I was going to try it.
Any ideas, suggestions or thoughts would be super helpful!!

Comments (21)

• jameya
    Original Author
    9 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

Anyone??

• nippstress - zone 5 Nebraska
    9 years ago

Hi Jameya

Welcome to GardenWeb! Sometimes we take a while to respond to things, but it's a good place to get some questions answered. You have two situations going on with your roses that have different treatments.