Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mel_bag26

Black spot on roses

Mel.Bag26
9 years ago

Hello There,

Before I get started, I must say that I am very new to gardening, so please bear with me!

Well, I recently "inherited" several roses (not sure of the exact varieties) from my mother-in-law and, after winter, I had a peek and realized that almost every single one had black spot. I did some research and proceeded to cut away and dispose of all the diseased areas, thinking this would do the trick.

I went out there yesterday and noticed that it's back! Almost all of the plants have it again, so my question is, why is this?

Should I have been sterilizing my shears in between plants? I read that I should sterilize my tools, but only did so before pruning the first plant. Or did I miss something? Some diseased part that kept the fungus spreading? Any help would be greatly appreciated!

I want to make the roses something she would be proud of again!

Comments (4)

• dublinbay z6 (KS)
    9 years ago

Mel, the only way to get rid of blackspot is to spray a fungicide--or learn to live with it. Spraying can get a number of posters upset, but if you want to go that direction (and I do spray occasionally in the spring and fall when temperatures are most conducive to BS formation), I recommend using the product Bayer Garden Disease Control for Roses, Flowers, and Shrubs available at Lowes or online. Make sure it is that name--Bayer puts out a number of products, most of which you probably do NOT want to use, for various reasons. You will also need to buy a small 1-2 gal. sprayer container--costs about $20 at Lowes, HD, Wal-Mart, etc. FOLLOW SAFETY DIRECTIONS CAREFULLY. And spray in the morning on a wind-less or nearly wind-less day--unless you like a sudden face full of spray from the breezes. Water the plants well the day before spraying.

There are other products out there also--in my opinion, many of them are quite ineffective.